India vs Sri Lanka 2017: Schedule Announced

India vs Sri Lanka 2017 series has been finalized and while the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is yet to make an official announcement, ESPNCricinfo has released the full scheduled after verification from the venues that are slated to host the matches.

While Virat Kohli-led Indian squad has won the India vs Australia 2017 ODI series by 4-1 and they will be looking to continue their dominance in the T20I leg, when it comes to the last time India and Sri Lanka went head-to-head, the ‘Men In Blue’ became the first ever team to register a clean sweep across all three formats by winning all the three Tests, five ODIs as well as the one-off T20I, in the island nation.

image source: indianexpress
image source: indianexpress

That being said, Sri Lanka, they are currently playing a 2-match Test series against Pakistan and now have a 1-0 lead after Rangana Herath produced a brilliant spell of 6/43 as he took 10 wickets to take Sri Lanka to a 21-run win in Abu Dhabi.

image source: hindustantimes
image source: hindustantimes

Interestingly, before the India vs Sri Lanka 2017 series kick starts, Virat Kohli & Co. still have 3 T20I left to be played against Australia followed by the India vs New Zealand 2017 series where the Kiwis will be touring India for the second time this year.

While the 8-match series against New Zealand will conclude on 7th November, the home team will just have around a week to take on the neighboring nation as the India vs Sri Lanka 2017 series is scheduled from 16th November to 24th December 2017, consisting of a three-match series for all the three formats, each.

India vs Sri Lanka 2017 Schedule

  • India vs Sri Lanka 2017 1st Test: 16-20th November at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata
  • India vs Sri Lanka 2nd Test: 24-28th November at the Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) Stadium, Nagpur (Jamtha)
  • India vs Sri Lanka 3rd Test: 2-6th December at the Feroz Shah Kotla Ground, Delhi
  • India vs Sri Lanka 1st ODI: 10th December at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association (HPCA) Stadium, Dharamsala
  • India vs Sri Lanka 2nd ODI: 13th December at Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
  • India vs Sri Lanka 3rd ODI: 17th December at Dr. YS Rajasekhara Reddy ACA–VDCA Cricket Stadium, Visakhapatnam
  • India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I: 20th December at Barabati Stadium, Cuttack
  • India vs Sri Lanka 2nd T20I: 22nd December at Holkar Stadium, Indore
  • India vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20I: 24th December at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

India vs Sri Lanka 2017 Squads

Both teams are yet to officially announce their respective squads for India vs Sri Lanka 2017 series and while the UAE fixture will provide a great insight on whom SLC will pick as their representatives for the Indian tour, as far as the hosts are concerned, we expect the likes of Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja to finally feature in the squad.

Until then, check this space for every update regarding the India vs Sri Lanka 2017 series.

Everything said and done, team India is going to have a jam-packed season this year as after the Sri Lankan series, Virat Kohli & Co. will travel to South Africa for three Tests, six ODIs and three T20Is from 5th January to 24th February.