On Tuesday in Assam Sarbananda Sonowal sworn in as the first BJP chief minister of the state in a massive show of strength including  PM Narendra Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah, and over a dozen ministers. Now the name of his new cabinet of 11 ministers has been revealed.

This is the first government formed by BJP in the state as for past 15 years Congress was ruling Assam. Most of the members of the new cabinet are the familiar faces in Assam.

Here Is The List:

Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal

image source: indianexpress.com

Home, Border Area Development, Social Welfare and Implementations of the Assam Accord will be under the charge of the Chief Minister including other numbers of portfolios Mr. Sonawal has under his belt.

Himanta Biswa Sarma

image source: india.com

Finance, Planning, and Development, Health & Family Welfare, Education (Higher, Secondary & Elementary) will fall under the charge of the former Congress member Himanta Biswa Sarma . He will also be handling Khadi and Village Industry.

Atul Bora (AGP)

image source: netrailblazer.com

Agriculture, Horticulture and Food Processing, Animal Husbandry and Veterinary, Urban Development Directorate and Town & Country Planning will fall under the president of Asom Gana Parishad, Bora.

Pramila Rani Brahma (BPF)

image source: jci.gov.in

Environment & Forest, Soil Conservation, Welfare of Plain Tribes and Backward Class and Mines & Minerals are the portfolios that will be handled by Senior Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) leader and former minister Pramila Rani.

Keshab Mahanta (AGP)

image source: keshabmahanta.com

Keshab Mahanta who is a member of BJP’s ally Asom Gana Parishad will look after Water Resources, Science & Technology, and Information Technology.

Parimal Sukla Baidya (BJP)

image source: dailyhunt.in

PWD (Roads and Buildings), Fishery’s and Excise will be handled by former MLA and BJP leader Parimal Sukla.

Ranjit Dutta (BJP)

image source: facebook.com

Irrigation, Handloom and Textile (excluding Khadi and Village Industry) and Sericulture will fall under the charge of Ranjit Dutta.

Chandramohan Patowary (AGP)

image source: thehindu.com

Chandramohan Patowary, the former President of Asom Gana Parishad will look after Commerce and Industry, Transport and Parliamentary Affairs.

Rihan Daimary (BPF)

image source: assamtimes.org

Public Health Engineering, Food and Civil Supply will be handled by Daimary.

Naba Doly (Minister of State with Independent Charge)

image source: sabguru.com

Panchayat and Rural Development, Sports & Youth Welfare, Cultural Affairs will be handled by Naba Doly along with the assistant of Social Welfare portfolio.

Pallab Lochan Das (Minister of State with Independent Charge)

image source: india.com

Labour & Employment and Tea Tribes Welfare will be independently handled by Pallab Lochan Das. he will also assist Chief Minister and look after the Power department.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for more updates. Don’t forget to like and share. Do tell us your views in the comment box below.

25 May, 2016
Avni S.Singh

Facebook Comments