IPL 2017 has come to end and what a finale it was between Rising Pune Supergiants and Mumbai Indians. On one hand, entered as the two-time IPL champions but on the other hand, they hadn’t been able to breach Pune’s attack in IPL 2017. However, what we saw during the IPL 2017 final was a last ball finish, a victory by 10 runs and the champions defending a minimalistic total of 129 runs.

Mumbai Indians were crowned as the Champions for the third time in Indian Premier League history, which is the most by any of the franchises. Choosing to bat first, Mumbai Indians managed to take their scoresheet to just 129/8 in 20 overs on a wicket that was slow and turned even slower as the game progressed. Rising Pune Supergiants began their chase well but Bumrah sending MSD back to the pavilion was where the former champions turned the tables to their side.

However, Steven Smith played a captain’s knock and was there until the last over, which again was one of hell of a nail-biting experience. Despite Mumbai bowlers able to choke the run-flow brilliantly in the middle overs, Pune was still able to send chills down the spine of Rohit Sharma and men. With 11 runs needed off the last over and Mitchell Johnson being the kookaburra holder, those six balls were going to be the most intense one of the tournament and yes, they were.

Rohit Sharma
Image Courtesy: BCCI

Manoj Tiwary scored a boundary off the very first ball and went back to the sheds on the next ball. With skipper Steve Smith in the middle and 7 runs needed off 4 balls, Rising Pune Supergiants were still looking like the favorites for the IPL 2017 title, but, Smith threw his wicket away for a 50-ball 51 on the third ball of the over. Dan Christian should have traveled to the striker’s end and this was a basic mistake made by the skipper and Christian. Washington Sundar being on the striker’s end, he couldn’t do much and somehow brought Dan Christian on the striker’s end. On, second last delivery of the final over, the handle bearers managed to run for two but four runs needed on the last ball, they couldn’t do much and fell short by one run.

Then it was time for the final presentation ceremony of IPL 2017 and here is the full list of award winners from the 10th edition of Indian Premier League.

IPL 2017 Final, RPS vs MI: Match Awards

VIVO Perfect Catch of the Match – Jaydev Unadkat from Rising Pune Supergiant (Rs 1 lakh).

YES Bank Maximum Sixes – Krunal Pandya from Mumbai Indians (Rs 1 lakh and a trophy).

FBB Stylish Player of the Day – Shardul Thakur from Rising Pune Supergiants (Rs 1 lakh and a trophy).

Man of the Match – Krunal Pandya from Mumbai Indians (Rs 1 lakh and a trophy).

IPL 2017 Season Awards

VIVO Perfect Catch of the Season – Suresh Raina from Gujarat Lions (Rs 10 lakh, a trophy and a VIVO phone)

YES Bank Maximum Season Award Glenn Maxwell from Kings XI Punjab (Rs 10 lakh and trophy)

Vodafone Super Fast Fifty Award – Sunil Narine from Kolkata Knight Riders (Rs 10 lakh and a trophy)

Vitara Brezza Glam Shot of the Season – Yuvraj Singh from Sunrisers Hyderabad (Rs 1 lakh, a car and a trophy)

FBB Stylish Player of the Season – Gautam Gambhir from Kolkata Knight Riders (Rs 1 lakh and a trophy)

Orange Cap – David Warner from Sunrisers Hyderabad (Rs 10 lakh and a trophy)

Purple Cap – Bhuvneshwar Kumar from Sunrisers Hyderabad (Rs 10 lakh and a trophy)

Fair Play Award – Gujarat Lions (Trophy to the team).

Emerging Player Award- Basil Thampi from Gujarat Lions (Rs 10 Lakhs)

Most Valuable Player – Ben Stokes from Rising Pune Supergiant (Rs 10 lakh and a trophy)

IPL 2017 winner – Mumbai Indians (Rs 15 crore prize money and the winners’ trophy)

IPL 2017 runner-up – Rising Pune Supergiant (Rs 10 crore)

Facebook Comments