ICC Champions Trophy 2017 :West Indies Out, Bangladesh In.

The ICC Champions Trophy Tournament will be hosted by the England and Wales Cricket Board(ECB) from 1 to 18 June. Bangladesh will make a comeback in the ICC Champions Trophy Tournament for the first time since 2006 after the eight sides were confirmed for the 2017 tournament.

The eight sides to play in the short and sharp, nation-vs-nation ICC Champions Trophy 2017 are (in rankings order): World Champion Australia, Title Holder India, South Africa 1998 winner, 2000 champion New Zealand, 2002 Sri Lanka, host England, Bangladesh and Pakistan

In the ICC ODI Team Rankings on the 30 September 2015 cut-off date, Bangladesh has replaced the West Indies, which finished outside the top eight in ninth position.


It was in India where Bangladesh’s last participated in the tournament and they lost it to Sri Lanka in the qualifying round(by 37 runs) and the West Indies (by 10 wickets). Their single victory was against Zimbabwe they defeated them by 101 runs.

Since the last World Cup 2015, cricket in Bangladesh  improved and has been on a high and they had produced very powerful performances.

Along with an ODI series against Pakistan, Bangladesh won ODI series India and South Africa, which has helped it jump from ninth stage  to seventh in the ICC ODI Team Rankings. The next important qualification date in the diaries of the 12 teams on the ICC ODI Team Rankings will be 30 September 2017.

That is the date when the top eight ranked sides on the ICC ODI Team Rankings will earn direct qualification for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 to be hosted by the ECB. The bottom four sides will get a second chance to complete the 10-team lineup in the ICC Cricket World Cup when they will be joined by teams from the ICC World Cricket League Championship and the ICC World Cricket League Division 2 in the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2018.

ICC ODI Team Rankings (as on 30 September 2015, top eight sides have qualified for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017):

Rank   Team             Points

1          Australia         127

2          India                115

3          South Africa   110

4          New Zealand   109

5          Sri Lanka        103

6          England           100

7          Bangladesh     96

8          Pakistan          90

9          West Indies     88

10        Ireland             49

11        Zimbabwe       45

12        Afghanistan    41


30 Sept, 2015
Avni S. Singh


Facebook Comments