Rahul Dravid, we all love this former Indian captain and now the news is that Dravid and ex-Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardena have been appointed as a current player representative and past player representative to the ICC Cricket Committee.

rahul dravid
image source: cricbuzz

With them on board, the ICC Cricket Committee will have even more experienced cricketers than the eminent people already on the committee. Both of the players have played 1,161 international matches between them from 1996 to 2015 and Dravid and Jayawardena are appointed for a three-year term.

Both the players will attend their first meetings on 31 May and 1 June at Lord’s and that will be three weeks before the ICC Annual Conference in Edinburgh, Scotland.

Rahul Dravid has been elected by the current Test captains as current player representatives along with former Australia off-spinner and ex-Chief Executive of Federation of International Cricketers’ Association (FICA), Tim May. They have replaced Kumar Sangakkara and Laxman Sivaramakrishnan who have completed their three-year term.

Jayawardena took over the place of former Australia captain Mark Taylor as a past player representative, as Taylor has already completed his final three-year term.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for more updates. Don’t forget to like and share. Do tell us your views in the comment box below.

Facebook Comments