2016 ICC Awards Announced: Virat Kohli not Included in ICC Test Team

International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the 2016 Award winners and the likes of Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Virat Kohli have dominated the winners’ lists.

Indian Team is going through one of the best era that the nation has seen in many years, coming a long from being rookies to the No.1 team in the world.

Ravichandran Ashwin became the third Indian to receive the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy after being named as the Cricketer of the Year. Rahul Dravid (2004) and Sachin Tendulkar (2010) are the only other Indian cricketers who have claimed this prestigious award.

Ashwin also bagged the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year and become the second Indian to win these two coveted awards in the same year after Rahul Dravid. From September 2015 to September 2016, Ashwin played 8 tests in which he claimed 48 wickets and scored 336 runs.  

Quinton de Kock, South Africa’s wicketkeeper-batsman has bagged the ODI Player of the year Award and became the second South African batsman to clinched this award after AB de Villiers. He scored a total of 793 runs in 16 ODIs, registering 4 centuries and a half century during the voting period.

Here are all the other award winners.

Test Team of the year

Surprisingly, Virat Kohli was not included in the ICC test team of the year.

ODI Team of the year

For the first time in the history of Cricket, ICC announced the Women’s team of the year, Women’s ODI player of the year and Women’s T20 player of the year.

India’s Smriti Mandhana made it to the ICC team while New Zealand’s Suzie Bates earned both Women’s ODI and the T20 Player of the Year awards.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for more updates. Don’t forget to like and share. Do tell us your views in the comment box below.

22 December 2016
Rohan Jaitly

Facebook Comments