Every year, the top of the industry are honoured with Dadasaheb Phalke Awards that were first put into motion in 1969 by the government to honour Dadasaheb Phalke’s contribution to cinema. He directed Raja Harishchandra, India’s first feature-length movie that made Phalke the “Father Of Indian Cinema’.

On April 29th, Sunday, Mumbai, the Dadasaheb Phalke Film Foundation Award ceremony was conducted in which various actors won and took home top honours at the ceremony. Akshay Kumar won the Best Actor award for his movies, Toilet: Ek Prem Katha and R Balki’s PadMan. Whereas, Sonam Kapoor won the best actress award for her role in PadMan.

PadMan was based on social entrepreneur Arunachalam Muruganantham, who is acclaimed for revolutionising sanitary hygiene in rural India.

Apart from the best actors awards, there were many other crucial awards. Celebrated 90s actress, Manisha Koirala won the most versatile actress award and Rakesh Roshan took home the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Here’s the full list of actors and singers who won it big at the ceremony.

  • Best Actor in a Leading Role (Jury): Akshay Kumar for PadMan and Toilet: Ek Prem Katha
  • Best Actress in a Leading Role: Sonam Kapoor for PadMan
  • Best Actor in a Character Role – Rajesh Sharma
  • Best Actor in Web Series: Amit Sadh for Breathe
  • Best Playback Singer (Female) – Neeti Mohan
  • Best Playback Singer (Jury)- Bhumi Trivedi
  • Best TV Anchor- Aditya Narayan Jha
  • Best Entertainer (TV) – Manish Paul
  • Best Stage Anchor- Siddharth Kannan
  • Lifetime Achievement award: Rakesh Roshan
  • Saraswatibai Dadasaheb Phalke Best Actress (Lifetime) award: Farida Jalal
  • Most versatile Actress award: Manisha Koirala
  • Best producer (Short Films)- Sandip Marwah
  • Most Entertaining Film – Luv Ranjan for Sonu Ki Titu Ki Sweety

While some deserved the award, other’s don’t which is pretty consistent with any and every award function in this country. As per ANI, 22 technical awards are yet to be presented by the committee.

Jyotsna Amla

Facebook Comments